…At The Grindstones











{April 25, 2010}   Bus Shelter


Today I took the long way home, strolling through empty business plazas and in and around ..The pre-party Saturday night quiet and the remaining heat from the day was more than welcome after the hustle and bustle of the morning.

Along the way I passed a well-lit bus/streetcar shelter in which an older gentleman was rolled up comfy in a sleeping bag, settled in for the night. Generally in the city you will find people camp out early over subway grates to soak up the heat as they  drift off to sleep.

What struck me about this is that he was not only in the most comfortable looking roll of blankets that I’ve seen in a while, but he was propped up on an elbow reading a novel… that he had chosen the lit up bus shelter to get some good reads in before calling it a night.

Which reminds me of a time, probably 7 or 8 years ago when I was working at a mall, and had made the long long trek to the public washroom because we didn’t have any for some reason, or perhaps it was when I was working a “mall stall”…but that is beside the point. I was in this washroom, in this mall walking distance from nowhere, when a woman came in as I was brushing my teeth and washing up and delighted in the fact that the hot water tap did indeed work there (not sure if you are aware of this but many places only have the cold option).. to which she remarked

“The water is so good and hot here..”

Looking up at myself and another clerk at the sinks with the most amazing look- like she was drinking in the heat and energizing herself with it..absorbed in that moment of pure gratitude and wanting to share it with us. To this day I play her words over in my mind EVERY time I was my hands at a public washroom, and think of her smile..

Things like that, really make me thankful for the things that I have. The things that are always available to me because of the country that I live in, the things that I one had and enjoyed, the things that I work hard to always have..and how I always try to make the best of a bad situation and see the good in things.. and people.. sometimes I can be overwhelmed like everyone.. but it really is those little things that fill us with delight that mean the most.. that warm our hearts or bodies or make us think.. or make us work..or that are always there for free…

..and one of the things that has fascinated me for as long as I can remember, and has been an obsession of mine for the last 10 or so years has been this common human experience at delighting in the simple, at nature, gifts we are given etc etc- that exists spanning through all cutures and all peoples.. and the connections that we  can find with each other because of that human experience- not just the joy, but every emotion and wonder that we have, as well as the confusion and darkness and how we cope with our lives at that moment and LIVE.. as opposed to live.

I’m looking forward to curling up with a good book in a little while myself……

KQ

Neel says:

So, what did you wind up reading?

I think your fascination is a good one. Little things are big things, and they are a continuum… it’s kind of a calculus of existence. 🙂



Chin P’ing Mei Vol. 2 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
