…At The Grindstones











{April 26, 2010}   JU P


I went for a little walk with my new camera on a very very windy night and snapped a few pics of some fantastic art or neat structures along my way. I found a free-standing lemonade stand in an otherwise deserted park and a few other things that  I will be revisiting for video very soon, a rare instance where I just wasn’t thirsty- but I believe good lemonade is hard to come by so I’ll be back..

The planters are now filled with tulips and daffodils..and more, everywhere downtown.

It’s about time!


A really odd alley I had never seen before, I’d love to come back with a really good camera since it looked like a painting or something out of a movie..

By the Lemonade Stand I saw this ever burning torch.. hoping to go back in the day and clean out the garbage from around the memorial…

I love this sculpture- puzzle-chair – it’s a fairly unvisited spot, and somewhat quiet, tucked away in the financial district.. still has Christmas decorations near it though…

In another plaza nearby I love this archway or fallen building look facing the plaza, it reminds me of a giant jack a la the game Jacks, or something aerospace related..

I think these windows and this set up are too beautiful to be deserted at night, or to be so out of the way that people don’t get to enjoy them!

And likewise this, which is fairly close by… reminds me of the ferry terminal in my hometown..

I thought these square windows were pretty neat- high up in an alleyway..

But one of my favorite sights of the evening was JUP:

I’d like to think that it’s meant to be inspirational in some way , and I was indeed out on the lookout for inspiration of some sort… and was trying to figure out how to interpret it which at the same time laughing out loud by myself in somewhat of a shifty area. I’m not sure what the sign is actually for just yet but I’ll take it as a Carpe Diem type thing- where the person about to set forth has a few things in the way of running out and grabbing what they need- physical health, family situations etc.. so they do the best they can with the resources they are given. How often are we all really 100% and able to just run and do something anyway.. are we setting the bar too high for ourselves? How much do we have to achieve to feel proud of ourselves these days?

Got me wondering….

KQ

Neel says:

The puzzle chair is awesome. It reminds me a bit of an Olmec head… or something one might find in Fallout 3.

JUP? Just Use… and I’m left looking for the right “P” word… any ideas?



Wait, why a P word? I mean why not a P word..
Reminds me of this quote from the Family Guy Movie:
>Trisha Takinawa: Here comes Mayor Adam West himself. Mr. West, do you have any words for our viewers?
>Mayor Adam West: Box, toaster, aluminum, maple syrup… no I take that one back. I’m gonna hold onto that one.

Penguin, Persimmon, Parachute, Petrified, Pizazz ….



Neel says:

“Precision” was the one that came to mind at the time. But that was too serious. Persuasion? Hmmm. That could work…

I really like that quote.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
