…At The Grindstones











{May 5, 2010}   Foodie Fare One


Just a little update since I have been busy and out of town over the last few days to show some of the awesome and fun meals I’ve had out on the town…

I really am a huge huge soup fan- I don’t know why, it’s a comfort food, it can be a challenge to make- someday I’ll tell you about the last time I “made” potato-leek soup…

One of my favorites- because it’s delicious and hard to do wrong, is Tom Yum soup – with shrimp!! Which is another soup that I’ll be trying to tackle after the Hot and Sour cookoff this weekend.

More info Here!

Tom Yum Soup ..

Thai Dumplings with Peanut Sauce  were also a part of this meal but I ate them before I thought of taking a photo… I also had Chicken with Potatos and Yellow Curry…

Sticky Rice

The next day, being in Montreal, I had to have Poutine, but sadly the fries were from a freezer…

Then for dinner I had a Chicken Salad sandwich with apples and bacon.. oh yeah there was a salad. 😛 With Nachos an homemade guacamole.. Kind of looked like face with the cucumbers.. I love a good presentation..

The next day I went to a Giant Orange for a burger..

Here’s a shot of the inside…

This is the massive burger, I forget what it was called but it was delicious. except it was made with “american cheese” which was the only let down.. But it had bacon and caramelized onions, mushrooms and goodness..

My friend had a combo- from which I stole many a tasty fry.. we ate outside in the parking lot on picnic tables- a real summer feel 🙂

Every combo came with an Orange Julius style milk-orange drink which I am not a fan of but they were cute cups.

The next day I went to my favorite brunch place in Montreal, perhaps of all time for the Special Folie- classic eggs and bacon brekky with ham, sausage, crepe, creton, toast and fruit…. SO GOOD.. that I forgot to take a picture once I got inside hahaa.

After work the other day I met up with a friend for a late lunch at the Grilled Cheese restaurant in Toronto, which I love the feel of.. and I sat facing the pickle wall…

And I had a grilled cheese called The Beast, with bacon, 2 kinds of cheese, onion, mushroom , tomato, spinach, not sure what else, but it came with chips and a pickle.. and it was mighty fine!

Which I rounded out with some cold fizzy water on another patio at a dessert- lunch place called Wanda’s Pie in the Sky. I had a red velvet cupcake but was disappointed when the icing was lemon pudding. I wont discount the place just yet though, my plan is to go back with a group and eat a full pie in the sun.. since I hear they are amazing.. 🙂

That’s a little bit of the food-ness that I got to indulge in over the weekend while I was away in Montreal and settling back in…Now that I am back I’m getting ready to do some cooking videos over the weekend and try some stuff out at home!

KQ

Neel says:

America needs to completely and categorically reject the cheese that has been named after it. I think diplomatic overtures should be made to Greece while they need the money and may be willing to sell the rights to name “Feta”, “American”… only then will Americans (well, Statesians, USAians, whatever) once again be able to walk about in public with their heads no longer lowered from the shame of having plastic masquerading as a dairy product as their national cheese.



People love Kraft SIngles here too.. lots of people. I called it American cheese because most people would know what I was talking about right away- however I think the most popular ‘real” cheese in the US is “Jack” Cheese… seems to be the main option at restaurants as I am traveling there as the fancy “real” cheese pay extra option..



Leave a Reply

et cetera
