…At The Grindstones











{May 27, 2010}   I love you.. for sentimental reasons..


I finally finished off reading ME by Katharine Hepburn, and came across so many amazing quotes but this one really stood out to me so I have to share it before the others:


“It seems to me that I discovered what “I love you” really means.

It means I put you and your interests and your comfort ahead of my own interests and my comfort because I love you.

What does this mean?

I love you. What does this mean?

Think.

We use this expression very carelessly.

Love has nothing to do with what you are expecting to get- only with what you are expecting to give- which is everything.

What you get in return varies. But it really has no connection with what you give. You give because you love and you cannot help giving. If you are very lucky, you may be loved back. That is delicious but it does not necessarily happen.

It really implies total devotion. And total is all emcompassing-

the good of you, the bad of you…”



-Katharine Hepburn on Love.. and Spencer Tracy

There’s a reason why we feel like slaves to love. There’s a reason why – and of course with my background this comes up- that LOVE in history did imply a submissiveness and surrender to another- that will be a different post…Love, romance, passion, surrender..leading by the heart, love crazed…Surrendering our hearts up to someone else and just hoping, praying that they don’t devour them.. A wonderful and frightening feeling all at once..

A little reading music…

KQ

PS. She also said..

“I have no idea how (he) felt about me. I can only say I think that if he hadn’t liked me he wouldn’t have hung around. As simple as that. He wouldn’t talk about it and I didn’t talk about it, We just passed twenty-seven years together in what to me was absolute bliss.

It is called LOVE.”

Sean says:

That Ms. Hepburn is a quite a lady. She nailed it all, the excitement, the scaredy-cat part of it, it’s a beautiful thing.

There’s a woman who is dear to me, she used to send me Nat King Cole MP3s. This post reminded me of some of my favorite things about that girl. Thanks for this post.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
