…At The Grindstones











{June 8, 2010}   MintTea Goodness..


A great sipping summer tea- Moroccan style…. All you’ll need is fresh mint and honey..

Wash your mint and pick off any leaves or stems that may be less than appetizing, if they are a bit dry that is okay too. The rule of thumb with fresh herbs is generally to use twice as much as dried.. or something like that but I just do it to taste.. So I’d say about a half cup (roughly) for a French Press or medium teapot. If you are worried about pesticides or extras on your leaves, just toss them in a cup of hot water for a few minutes, then transfer them to the “teapot”.

Chop it up good so the water can really draw out the flavour..

I added honeycomb to mine- warning it (the wax) will melt and float in your cup and stick to the roof of your mouth sometimes- regular honey works too- one slice I think is around 1/8th of a cup or so, I don’t like mine too sweet.. you can add any sweetener you like..

There it is, ready for a hot bath..

Et Voila!

You can add extra sweetener to taste of course, and can re-brew the leaves several times, if you feel you need to add more, add about a tablespoon of new chopped leaves per pot. Leave them to steep for at least 5-6 minutes, or longer, it will be pretty hot..

Enjoy!
KQ

Jay says:

I have actually had great results brewing chocolate mint leaves and stevia leaves instead of traditional sweeteners. Give it a try 🙂



AWESOME!
Fresh ones? Do you have a plant at home? I wonder if I can get them here.. hmm… I think we mostly have stevia “powder”… I just picked up a Spearmint plant and I can’t wait to make tea out of that, perhaps with some dried peppermint…



Jay says:

My friend has about 30 or 40 plants in his garden. Not sure if the customs nazis would take them like the local honey I tried to send to you.



They might yeah- the only plant I’ve been able to get over the border has been a cactus, and a bonsai… :S Not sure why that is the case..



Jay says:

I guess if it comes prepackaged and filled with high fructose corn syrup it is ok for international commerce :/



Leave a Reply

et cetera
