…At The Grindstones











{June 27, 2010}   G20- Not sure what to report..


I’m in bed with a knee injury and a cup of jasmine tea, half watching Fantastic Mister Fox, half on the floor for comfort, in a bit of shock as to what went on this weekend. I made a point of being out in it and seeing it because, the news, the media, they report what they see- and they all have their own angle, and I don’t even mean political angle. For example, lots of people told me what to expect at Burning Man or camping in the desert in general, but no one could really tell me, because no one really knew me. So you see I had to be there to see what it was for me, what it meant to me to see this stuff going down so to speak.

So what did it mean to me.. I’m not sure. I guess I had the same disbelief as everyone that this was happening in Canada and was extreme as it was. The violence though was not really related and as a result of a group of idiots that will remain unnamed here because they don’t deserve this “shout out”. What I did see was mad fear, a place that looked like a zombie attack had just run through (boarded up windows etc).. people who couldn’t find their usual escape acted out in rage, it was totally ridiculous. Most people who weren’t here- I say most as there were a few exceptions, didn’t give a moments thought to the well being of anyone here because it wasn’t real to them. I’m not trying to whine for attention by the way, I’m just totally shocked. That’s why I had to get out there.

I saw some hate crimes of these non protestor, non anarchist angry people. It reminded me of how much hate there was in the world and how much dependancy. And yet in my heart I was hoping for something to lean on, because it was breaking. It’s not like I lost faith in mankind perse, but something like that. By the way, my house had riots outside of it so I was really in the action. Thankfully I missed out on the Burning stuff in this case. I think it helped me emotionally that I was packing for Burning Man and had been BM shopping on Thursday- Friday for a few things I needed. Oh yeah where was I going with that. I’m somewhere in the middle- in the end I just wanted people to go home once the leaders had left- why protest all over the place afterwards, in a lot a lot of cases the cops were needed. In a lot of cases I was happy there were there. I saw some great protests though, some really peaceful ones, some really moving ones that were NONVIOLENT. I also saw a lot of garbage left on the ground from protesters that supposedly recycle every other day.

I took a lot of photos and videos and in the end- there are others that show so much more. Most of what I got was in the eye of the storm so, you see garbage, but not many protesters as they were on the move. I want my city back, I love it here. I want the fountains to be flowing again and to get out in it and explore as I always do. Even though I was out and about, aside from a quiet Saturday afternoon in a very peaceful Chinatown there wasn’t much that was beautiful. There was fear, there was pain, and there was loneliness.

In the end, Sunday night brought thunder and rain.. and with it, quiet for the most part with a burst of sirens around 10.. the rain to wash away the negativity and send people home to recharge and take care of themselves.. now there’s a calm cool breeze but a sort of haze or covering of sadness this evening and I think contemplation, thought, whatever, in most households and definitely some thankfulness going around for what we do have, friends, comforts, shelter….anyone who I saw this weekend added so much to my energy and ability to keep going and I think we were like that for each other, and hopefully not draining of each other. actually, but yeah- familiar faces after being in an ocean of strangers- can do a lot for anyone’s mood in any situation I think.

I’m not sure what else to say, I can’t really do a “wrap up” since things aren’t over. I do believe that with the dawn that many people will feel, well, safe- where they hadn’t before during this weekend, or at least as safe as they would have beforehand. All I can do is curl up in my bed with myself and be grateful for the fact that I can keep many of the comforts that I’ve worked so hard to get .. and I don’t mean my shoe collection..

KQ

Leave a Reply

et cetera
