…At The Grindstones











{July 6, 2010}   It’s so Beautiful….


Here’s one of the newer viral videos that people are lolzoring over.
Personally, I think it’s amazing and I would be freaking out myself. I’ve totally cried watching dust devils, and during choice thunderstorms.. I can’t get over how people forget how beautiful nature really is, or refuse to admit it by making fun of this guy. Who cares if he’s high which has been the general first comment, it’s like the viewers aren’t seeing the ridiculously amazing double rainbow- perfectly clear, perfectly formed in front of them, just waiting for him to say something that they can quote and laugh about. Feeling shit is lame, surrendering and appreciating nature is lame I guess. I’m not saying that everyone should become pagan all of a sudden but seriously since when has “it’s been done” become the general attitude towards the history of the world and universe as we know it?

I want to see the Grand Canyon, I want to go up in a Hot Air balloon over Niagra Falls. I want to camp in a dusty desert again, visit historical rivers and stone landmarks and have my mind blown… as these are the very things (minus the hot air balloon) that have always blown the mind of man and started him on his quest for knowledge of things that can’t be explained right away.. and the creation of faith in a power or powers or energies (probably a better word) that made things the way they are..

Let me use a specific example… The symbol for sun in the Ancient Egyptian world- in certain groups as there were several different creation myths… actually, I’ll allow myself to get distracted. There is one creation myth where man was created on a potters wheel and the god, Khunum, created many things of clay.. does it surprise you that the city that he was the patron god of was on the bank of the Nile?

Then we have the Sun god Ra, Re- Horaktey, Atum-Re…. there were a few facets and transformations… who was associated with a Hawk, the highest animal in the sky, closest to the sun, the unexplainable, therefore terrifying and beautiful all at once… The hawk becomes the animal closest to the miracle and therefore is associated with the miracle..

This makes me want to make a video about a few other hieroglyphics and how their meanings make complete and total sense. I remember when I was giving talks on the subject trying to explain and read glyphs to people how most people were surprised that the “eye” doesn’t always mean eye…. that there are more than 20 birds and that there is a complicated grammar.. That will be tomorrow’s video actually, a little lesson on some of the awesome symbols that you will totally be able to remember the next time you are at a museum 🙂

I better go for now, this Beautiful heatwave is making me feel like an ant under a magnifying glass and sadly yet awesomely I need to go sweat over the oven and make some homemade muffins so I don’t have to cook later. I’ll post the recipe tomorrow too hehe

KQ

Turbulence says:

i’ve seen beautiful pics of a full rainbow (“double”) at the playa with a fisheye cam. that was my first spark or something 😉



Neel says:

Heh. “It’s been done” is such the wrong attitude… for nothing that can be done matches that which simply “is”. 🙂

I hope you get to see all your places, in just the way you would want.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
