…At The Grindstones











{July 13, 2010}   Snacking…

When I’m on the road I find it extremely hard to find food that its healthy and that will give me the boost that I need. Rather, I did find it hard. Ha, I just wrote food, I guess it’s lunchtime? I eat something like 6 times a day though because I am fairly active..

I tried an Heirloom Tomato on my last trip, because it looked neat. It was not tasty.


Looked neat though…

With Mini Mini Bocconcini

Goes better with Grape or Cherry tomatoes, or Hothouse.. and a Fozzie Fork doesn’t hurt…

Or if I feel fancy I try a bit of a soft cheese with honeycomb and toast.. haha

Or dumplings or a small noodles out on the town..

On road trips- when I have no utensils I hit up the cheese curds, little tomatos and raisins… I was feeling nostalgic so I wanted the cardboard box raisins to remind me of recesses at school or, the last of the Halloween candy haha

To try to stop myself from eating something like…

..because really, I shouldn’t be eating anything that comes in nugget form and I usually don’t… but being violently ill on the road did at least allow me to stay awake until 5…

The teeny predator attacks it’s prey from the inside out….

My foodloves as of late have been honey toast and tomatoes and cheese, spicy soups- homemade tom yum goong or hot and sour out on the town..

Even though it’s hot out, I really miss East-Coast HOMEMADE fish chowder. HOLY CRAP.

Comes with that white dinner roll and too-firm butter packet.. I don’t usually eat white bread unless I have company so it’s so delicious when I do…though I prefer baguette action..

See there they gave me crackers as well since they know how it’s done. You can’t really get good fish chowder in places where fish isn’t number one on the menu. Even then the chef is usually picky or tries to get creative with it which you just can’t do. It’s comfort food and tradition- get yer sage out of my showdair.

I had that in Mahone Bay, NS..Here:

SO GOOD. There’s a giant Yellow lawn chair out front that I wish I took pics in but I was way too hungry after having only had that heirloom tomato that morning…

I took a picture of their desert menu to give you an idea of what an east coast dessert is like. Generally someone’s grandmother or aunt baked it that day or the day before.. it’s a pie or a crumble.. Might have apples or sour berries in it and a TON of sugar..

Let’s see if I can read this blur :

Mincemeat Pie * Apple Crumble *Apple Pie *Strawberry Rhubarb Pie * Rice and something Pudding * Bread Pudding * Ice Cream- Strawberry – Chocolate- Vanilla * Coconut Cake * Coconut Cream Pie * Date Square * Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie * Mincemeat pie with something ..

At home dessert growing up was ice cream, maybe a popsicle.. but I was never a dessert fan. Even ice cream, not a fan. When family was around, more than the home folks, we had pie,  Partridgeberry, Apple, Date and Lemon Squares (I loved those) and a variety of cookies, or Partidgeberry or lemon tarts. If it was a tea party we were having then we had little sandwiches and cookies, I’ve always preferred the second round of sandwiches to the cookies though.. even though I can bake like nobody’s business.  One side of my family was very much about the afternoon tea though which is why we often had more than one type of cookie or square around…ooh Lunchtime!

KQ

Neel says:

Pity such a fascinating looking tomato was not tasty!
That’s one reason I love peppers- they are fun to look at, and never seem to be a disappointment. I need to do some Thai dragons again. 😀



yeah.. maybe they are tasty at a different time of year.. i dunno..

thai dragons? :O
Sugar.. dragons?



Neel says:

Oh, wow! That is just flat-out amazing!

No, my dragons are made by nature, and require no particular talent on my part. Just the occasional odd watering or weeding. 🙂



Oh Snap! 🙂

(best puppets ever)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
