…At The Grindstones











{September 4, 2010}   The Man is Burning

Soon, now, in a few hours, yesterday depending on when you read this, it’s happening now. As we move into the fall, the new ‘school year”, the changing seasons, harvest what you learned, what you worked hard for, enjoy the last bit of summer and play for now and think about what you’d like to learn in the cold coming months. What do you want to get rid of in your life that is negative? What do you want to replace it with that is positive?

I used to have bonfires around Lughnasah, August 1st, Egyptian New Year even, every year, burning old papers and things that I no longer needed, clearing clutter and thinking about amazing things that I could learn and add to my life the next year going into that colder time, the time of study…

What do you want this year?

Skip to 7:00 for the Explosion.

Before the man burns at Burning Man, raises it’s arms in surrender to it’s fate- giving up what needs to be given up…I’ll do it, you can do it too.

This year I want to learn more Mandarin Chinese, get into Chinese Medicine more and learn about acupuncture, moxibustion, chinese herbalism and Egyptian medicine. I want to translate some medical texts on my own in Egyptian. I want to have learned and memorized at least 100 chinese Characters that I can write out by heart without looking at anything or being prompted. I want to go up in a hot hair balloon.

I don’t want to waste time on people who don’t care about me. I don’t want to feel empty and I don’t have to. I don’t want to feel like I need to reciprocate things when I’m not feeling it. I want to keep patting myself on the back when I have succeeded in something for myself and by myself, and I WILL NOT BE ASHAMED of being a beginner in anything.  I don’t want to feel responsible for others, because I am not. I have too many things that other people would love and I want to get rid of them by passing them along to someone who can enjoy and use them and appreciate them more than myself…a la the fraggle pebble of Muppet Family Christmas.

How about you?

KQ

Jay says:

I given up searching my wants, and look at only addressing my needs. I look to attatin a simpler happy life free of outward distractions or influences. I am also ridding myself of a great many things that no longer serve purpose or function in my life, including some people.

I hope your journey this year was greatly cathartic and full of love 🙂



My year wasn’t exactly, but my journey, the one I just completed was, which gave me everything I needed without my having to even ask for it, since I surrendered to it. Odd how that happens sometimes… O.o



Leave a Reply

et cetera
