…At The Grindstones











{September 15, 2010}   My Pumpkin Molasses Muffins

These little bad boys are an amazing snack for the week and can take care of your snack cravings or rushed breakfast no problem, especially with a nice little piece of cheese…

What I do is, when squash and pumpkin are in season (you can use either), acorn, butternut squash and pumpkin are all amazing.. Bake them in the oven with a bit of maple syrup in the middle to moisten and keep them baking until they are soft, takes a while, I just put on a movie for the whole thing. Then you scoop out the flesh (the seeds are scooped out before baking, you can bake those too), and measure one-cup amounts out. I put them in little sandwich bags and freeze them flat, and just take them out an hour or half hour before I want to make the muffins. The canned pumpkin in my mind is too salty and tastes like everything else that’s in the can.

This is me measuring out and bagging the cooled pumpkin and squash..

Then I toss one cup of pumpkin/ squash into a bowl with 1/2 cup margarine or butter and a loosely packed 3/4 cup of brown sugar, and 1/4 – 1/3 cup molasses.

Add a beaten egg, a tablespoon baking soda, pinch of salt…and the desired spices… I use cinnamon and cloves for sure, and sometimes ginger, allspice or pumpkin pie spice mixes.. to make these even better add smallish chopped dates (not raisins),as these little dudes bake the dates get all mushy and spread out and add a lot of sweetness. You can also add pecans or another dried fruit like figs, walnuts etc etc.

Then add one and 3/4 cup flour. I use soy and barley flour, wheat flour would be fine as well, buckwheat as well and mixes of any kinds of flour really, though I’d avoid oat flour as it tends not to work as well for me.. Bake at 375 for about 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. They are very moist.

They turn out small, but are perfect servings of fibre. Perfect for snacking and super healthy.. alright so there’s some sugar in them.. but they are easy to digest, great for people with problems in that area. 🙂

Enjoy!

KQ

Neel says:

That is 23 kinds of awesome- I will have to try this! 🙂



They are really great as far as healthy snacks go.. and so easy to make. I just bought my first pumpkin of the year will get another next week and then bake and freeze enough to last me until next spring hehe.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
